Content overview

sprungmarken_marker_1495

Welcome to KASTEL Security Research Labs

The Competence Center for Applied Security Technology (KASTEL) is a competence center for cyber security initiated by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).

Following the motto "Comprehensible security in the networked world“, KASTEL addresses the challenges posed by the increasing interconnection of previously isolated systems. Of particular importance are the consequences of digitalization in the area of critical infrastructures, for example in the energy industry, in networked mobility or in industrial production.

KASTEL bundles the competencies in the field of IT security at the research location Karlsruhe. The goal is to develop a comprehensive approach instead of isolated partial solutions. The focus will be on comprehensive security in specific application areas, such as power grids, smart mobility, or intelligent factories.

To ensure this security, new threats must be modeled, security objectives described and new methods developed. This can only be achieved through collaboration between cryptographers, IT security specialists, software engineers, network experts, jurists, economists and social scientists - as is the case here at KASTEL.

KASTEL started in 2011 with a term of four years. After a successful evaluation in 2014, the term was extended by the BMBF, and after another successful scientific evaluation and a strategic assessment by the Helmholtz Association, it was finally decided to permanently fund KASTEL.

The KASTEL Institute of Information Security and Reliability at KIT, part of the KASTEL Security Research Labs, can be found here.

 

NEWS

KASTEL informs the Consul General of Israel about Cyber ​​Security at KIT

During her visit to Karlsruhe on June 28, 2022, the Consul General of Israel, Carmela Shamir, informed herself about the activities of KIT on the topic of Cyber ​​Security. She was accompanied by the representative of Israel to Baden-Württemberg, Maren Steege, and Mayor Dr Frank Mentrup. KASTEL Fellow Professor Jörn Müller-Quade explained current research activities of the Topic "Engineering Secure Systems" (ESS). Using examples from the energy industry, networked mobility and industrial production, Müller-Quade illustrated the special importance of IT security for the ongoing digitalization in the area of ​​critical infrastructures. The Consul General and her delegation showed great interest in the statements, as the topic is also of great actual relevance in Israel.

Paper on P2P network of Bitcoin on Financial Cryptography and Data Security 2022

The number of participants in Bitcoin's P2P network is difficult to measure. With the help of two students, the DSN research group has developed a method to estimate how many peers are active on the P2P network - regardless of whether those peers are reachable or not. At Financial Cryptography and Data Security 2022, the results of applying this method to data from the DSN research group's long-standing Bitcoin monitoring were published.

To the paper
Publications on Bitcoin and Payment Channels at IEEE ICBC 2022

At the IEEE International Conference on Blockchain and Cryptocurrency 2022, Matthias Grundmann, Max Baumstark, and Hannes Hartenstein published a short paper presenting insights into Bitcoin's P2P network. Among other things, the authors show that currently the connection capacity of a large part of the publicly accessible Bitcoin peers is maxed out. In addition, Matthias Grundmann presented a poster showing how security properties of payment channel protocols can be proven with TLA+.

To the paper
Digital Self Defense at the Digitaltag 2022

Watch out! Cybercriminlas want to obtain your private data or access your user accounts. At the Digitaltag 2022, the SECUSO research group will introduce you to tipps and tricks of cybercriminals. With our course on Digital Self Defense, we will show you how to detect fraudsters. The workshop will take place online. There is no registration needed for your participation.

More information
Thorsten Strufe with lecture on surveillance at renowned events

With his presentation on "You better act normal! Ubiquitous electronic observation: Threats and
Solution Attempts", Prof. Dr. Strufe will be appearing this year at renowned events such as the Honda Research Colloquium on Security and Privacy in Frankfurt, the Huawei Open S3 Workshop in Darmstadt, and the Heinz Nixdorf Symposium in Paderborn. He will also give a tutorial on behavioral data privacy at ESWEEK '22 in Shanghai on October 9. His presentations will focus on the potential for misuse of user data, ranging from unexpected identification to the disclosure of sensitive characteristics, health conditions, or personal peculiarities, despite constant claims of "anonymization" and "GDPR compliance".

DuD article on manipulative designs of cookie disclaimers

Franz Lehr (TU Dresden), Heike Dietmann, Chiara Krisam and Melanie Volkamer (SECUSO) published an article about the manipulative design of cookie disclaimers in the current issue of “Datenschutz und Datensicherheit” (data protection and data security, DuD). A recent study analyzed the cookie disclaimers of the most visited websites in Germany. The authors could observe that most cookie disclaimers are not privacy friendly. In this article, we comment on the current legal basis and provide and discuss recommendations for the future of cookie disclaimers.

Read the article
STAR at the TIL:FESTIVAL

The humanoid robot STAR of the SECUSO research group welcomes guests to the Today I Learned (TIL) Festival which will take place 18-21th of May in the Triangle at the Kronenplatz, Karlsruhe. Guests can speak to STAR to learn about phishing messages and spotting dangerous links in fraudulent messages. STAR presents his skills on our Teams’ webpage. STAR is looking forward to the exchange!

Visit STAR

Inhaltsübersicht

sprungmarken_marker_1495

Willkommen bei KASTEL Security Research Labs

Das Kompetenzzentrum für angewandte Sicherheitstechnologie (KASTEL) ist ein vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) initiiertes Kompetenzzentrum für Cybersicherheit.

Unter dem Motto "Nachvollziehbare Sicherheit in der vernetzten Welt" stellt sich KASTEL den Herausforderungen, die durch eine fortschreitende Vernetzung bisher isolierter Systeme entstehen. Von besonderer Bedeutung sind die Folgen der Digitalisierung im Bereich der kritischen Infrastrukturen, beispielsweise in der Energiewirtschaft, bei vernetzter Mobilität oder in der industriellen Produktion.

KASTEL bündelt Kompetenzen rund um die IT-Sicherheit am Forschungsstandort Karlsruhe. Ziel ist die Entwicklung eines umfassenden Ansatzes anstelle isolierter Teillösungen. Dabei soll die Gesamtsicherheit in konkreten Anwendungsbereichen, wie beispielsweise Stromnetzen, intelligenter Mobilität oder intelligenten Fabriken im Fokus stehen.

Um diese Sicherheit zu gewährleisten, müssen neue Bedrohungen modelliert, Sicherheitsziele beschrieben und neue Methoden entwickelt werden. Dies kann nur durch die Zusammenarbeit von KryptographInnen, IT-SicherheitsspezialistInnen, Software-IngenieurInnen, NetzwerkexpertInnen, JuristInnen und Wirtschafts- und SozialwissenschaftlerInnen erreicht werden - so wie hier bei KASTEL.

KASTEL startete 2011 mit einer Laufzeit von vier Jahren. Nach einer erfolgreichen Evaluation 2014 wurde die Laufzeit vom BMBF verlängert und nach einer weiteren erfolgreichen wissenschaftlichen Evaluation und einer strategischen Bewertung durch die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wurde schließlich die dauerhafte Finanzierung von KASTEL beschlossen.

Zum KASTEL Institut für Informationssicherheit und Verlässlichkeit am KIT, einem Teil der KASTEL Security Research Labs, gelangen Sie hier.

 

 

NEWS

Generalkonsulin von Israel informiert sich bei KASTEL über Cyber Security am KIT

Bei ihrem Besuch in Karlsruhe am 28. Juni 2022 informierte sich die Generalkonsulin von Israel, Carmela Shamir, über die Aktivitäten des KIT zum Thema Cyber Security. Sie wurde begleitet von der Repräsentantin für Israel in Baden-Württemberg, Maren Steege, und Oberbürgermeister Dr. Frank Mentrup. KASTEL-Fellow Prof. Dr. Jörn Müller-Quade erläuterte der Generalkonsulin aktuelle Forschungen des Topics „Entwicklung Sicherer Systeme“ (ESS). Anhand von Beispielen aus Energiewirtschaft, vernetzter Mobilität und industrieller Produktion verdeutlichte Müller-Quade die besondere Bedeutung von IT-Sicherheit für die fortschreitende Digitalisierung im Bereich der kritischen Infrastrukturen. Die Generalkonsulin und ihre Delegation zeigten großes Interesse an den Ausführungen, da das Thema auch in Israel von großer aktueller Relevanz sei.

Paper zu P2P-Netzwerk von Bitcoin auf Financial Cryptography and Data Security 2022

Die Anzahl an Teilnehmern im P2P-Netzwerk von Bitcoin ist schwer zu messen. Unter Mitwirkung zweier Studierender hat die Forschungsgruppe DSN eine Methode entwickelt um abzuschätzen, wie viele Peers im P2P-Netzwerk aktiv sind - unabhängig davon, ob diese Peers erreichbar sind oder nicht. Auf der Financial Cryptography and Data Security 2022 wurden die Ergebnisse der Anwendung dieser Methode auf die Daten aus dem langjährigen Bitcoin Monitoring der Forschungsgruppe DSN veröffentlicht.

Zum Paper
Veröffentlichungen zu Bitcoin und Payment Channels auf der IEEE ICBC 2022

Auf der IEEE International Conference on Blockchain and Cryptocurrency 2022 haben Matthias Grundmann, Max Baumstark und Hannes Hartenstein ein Short Paper veröffentlicht, in dem sie Erkenntnisse über das P2P-Netzwerk von Bitcoin vorstellen. Die Autoren zeigen u.a., dass aktuell die Verbindungskapazität eines Großteils der öffentlich erreichbaren Bitcoin Peers ausgelastet ist. Außerdem wurde von Matthias Grundmann ein Poster präsentiert, in dem gezeigt wird, wie Sicherheitseigenschaften von Payment Channel Protokollen mit TLA+ nachgewiesen werden können.
 

Zum Paper
Digitaler Selbstverteidigungskurs am Digitaltag 2022

Aufgepasst! Cyberkriminelle möchten an Ihre vertraulichen Daten gelangen oder Zugriff auf Ihr Benutzerkonto erhalten. Im Rahmen des Digitaltags 2022 veranschaulicht die Forschungsgruppe SECUSO mit einem “Digitalen Selbstverteidigungskurs NoPhish” verschiedene Tricks der Betrüger und Sie lernen, wie diese erkannt werden können. Der Workshop findet online statt. Für die Teilnahme ist keine Anmeldung erforderlich.

Mehr Infos
Thorsten Strufe mit Vortrag zur Überwachung auf namhaften Veranstaltungen

Mit seinem Vortrag zum Thema "You better act normal! Ubiquitous electronic observation: Threats and Solution Attempts" tritt Prof. Dr. Strufe dieses Jahr auf namhaften Veranstaltungen wie dem Honda Research Colloquium on Security and Privacy in Frankfurt, dem Huawei Open S3 Workshop in Darmstadt sowie dem Heinz Nixdorf Symposium in Paderborn auf. Außerdem gibt er am 9. Oktober ein Tutorial zu Datenschutz bei Verhaltensdaten auf der ESWEEK '22 in Shanghai. In seinen Vorträgen geht es um das Missbrauchspotenzials von Nutzerdaten, das von unerwarteter Identifizierung bis hin zur Offenlegung sensibler Merkmale, Gesundheitszuständen oder persönlicher Eigenheiten reicht.

DuD-Artikel “Manipulative Designs von Cookies”

Franz Lehr (TU Dresden), Heike Dietmann, Chiara Krisam und Melanie Volkamer (SECUSO), haben einen Artikel zum Thema “Manipulative Designs von Cookies” in der aktuellen Ausgabe “Datenschutz und Datensicherheit” (DuD) veröffentlicht. Eine Untersuchung der meist genutzten deutschen Websites zeigt, dass viele Cookie-Meldungen nicht Privatsphäre-freundlich gestaltet sind. Der Beitrag beleuchtet die Rechtslage zur Gestaltung von Cookie-Meldungen und entwickelt und diskutiert daran anknüpfend Handlungsempfehlungen.

Zum Beitrag
STAR auf dem TIL:FESTIVAL

Der humanoide Roboter STAR der Forschungsgruppe SECUSO begrüßt Gäste auf dem Today I Learned (TIL) Festival, das vom 18.-21.5. in der Triangle am Kronenplatz, Karlsruhe, stattfinden wird. Gäste können sich mit STAR über Phishing Nachrichten informieren und dabei gefährliche Links in betrügerischen Nachrichten ausfindig machen. Einen ersten Einblick gibt es auf unserer Teamseite. STAR freut sich auf den Austausch!

STAR besuchen

Newsarchiv